Casale Marchese was built over two ancient Roman cisterns. During the Middle Ages, it was listed as part of the Annibaldi family fief in a bull issued by Pope Boniface VIII, on 12 May 1301.
During the Renaissance the estate became the home of Marquis Emilio de’ Cavalieri (1550-1602), an event that brought the name of “Casale Marchese”.
At other times in its noble heritage, the estate was mentioned in many official documents. In more recent times, it appears in the Papal Land Surveyor’s Office records (1860) and was also described by poets and writers, like Clara Wells, who mentions it in one of her books (1878).
The Carletti family has owned the Casale Marchese estate for two centuries. Alessandro and Ferdinando are the fifth generation of this winemaking family. Alessandro, the eldest son, is the business manager, and the younger son, Ferdinando, is the estate’s agronomist.
The family can also boast two important cardinals as ancestors: Ludovico Micara (1775-1847) and Clemente Micara (1879-1965). The winery’s “Clemens” label is a homage to the latter.
The 18th-century country mansion is quite large and has been divided into two parts. The Carletti family, owners of the estate, live in one wing; the other wing has been converted into a winery. All the vinification, bottling and packaging is performed on the premises. A modern olive press has also been installed now, producing a top-quality extra-virgin olive oil using only the Casale’s own olives.
Part of the complex was recently restored and refurbished, and has been installed with a modern wine cellar. The old wine cellars, dating back to the late 1700s, have a tasting room often used to welcome and entertain guests from all over the world.